Fun-filled 21st Fish Eagle Rally

Three-day event
Close to 300 bikes participated in the 21st edition of the Fish Eagle Rally in Walvis Bay.
Close to 300 bikes participated in the 21st edition of the Fish Eagle Rally hosted by the 1313 MACS Familia Biker Club.

The bikers donated N$15 000 to Justin Koch (13), who uses a wheelchair due to cerebral palsy and needs N$250 000 for his next stem cell surgery.

One of the organisers Rassie Erasmus said that due to the Covid-19 pandemic, the rally couldn’t take place last year. “This year, we were up and running and we are pleased with the number of bikers who attended.”

Known as the largest motorcycle rally in Namibia, the event brings together hundreds of motorcycle enthusiasts and riders from all over the country and southern Africa.

The three-day rally kicked off with the barrel rumble on Friday night. Bikers who died were also honoured at the event.

Bravest bikers

Saturday saw the bikers participating in a mass ride through Walvis Bay from the lagoon to the Diaz Circle, where the drags kicked off. The party continued with various competitions and on Sunday, the event concluded with a church service.

Herbert and Doris Buchegger were awarded the bravest bikers accolade. The duo has been travelling across the African continent from Austria for the past five months. The couple entered the rally by chance and were awarded this prize after travelling 18 500 kilometres thus far.

The best represented club was the hosts, the MACS. Ricci Nichle was crowned burnout king, while Pierre Grobler was named doughnut king.

The longest distance travelled by a man earned South African legend Oros, who travelled 2 613 kilometres, an award, while his female counterpart Anne-Marie Le Roux (1 982 kilometres) was awarded for being the woman who travelled the longest distance to the rally.


Allan Jenne clocked the fastest time at 12:46 in the cruisers class. In the 350 – 950cc class, Marius Hendricks clocked the fastest time at 11:45 seconds, while in the 950 cc class, Pierre Grobler clocked a speedy 10:10.

He was also awarded for clocking the best time of the day.

In the open class, Edson Almeida clocked a time of 10:13 seconds. In the women's category, for the cruisers class, Amanda Kotze clocked 17:25, while in the 950cc class, Geraldine Botha finished in a time of 11:16 seconds.

Johan Oosthuizen was named wheelie king.