Struggling French meet formidable Spain

Euro 2024
Jesse Kauraisa
The European football championship of 2024 reaches a potential climax tonight as two of Europe's football giants clash in the first semi-final at Allianz Arena in Munich at 21:00.

Both teams come in the semi-final of the competition having soldiered on through the earlier stages.

Only one will advance to the final against either Netherlands or England, who play their semi-final on Wednesday night.

“I think this will be a great test for the Spanish, because they come up against a team that has often dominated them in major competitions," former Brave Warriors footballer Rudi Louw said.

“The Spanish looks good, but the French side just seem to have experience and this sets up a very interesting match.”

Spain are so far the only team to have won all their matches in the tournament and will be aiming to extend that 100% record as they meet the French.

It will be the 36th meeting between these two nations, with Spain leading on the number of victories ever since their first meeting in 1922.

The Spanish side has won a total of 16 matches, while the French have won 13, with both teams ending level on seven occasions.

The French will however be comforted by the fact that they have won six of the more competitive matches compared to the two that Spain has won.

France reached the 2024 semi-final after beating Portugal 5-3 on penalties following a 0-0 draw in normal time, while Spain left it to extra time to eliminate hosts Germany with a 2-0 victory on Friday night.

The player squads:


Álex Remiro, David Raya, Unai Simón, Álex Grimaldo, Aymeric Laporte, Dani Carvajal, Dani Vivian, Jesús Navas, Marc Cucurella, Nacho, Robin Le Normand, Álex Baena, Fabián Ruiz, Fermín López, Martín Zubimendi, Mikel Merino, Pedri, Rodri, Álvaro Morata, Ayoze Pérez, Dani Olmo, Ferran Torres, Joselu, Lamine Yamal, Mikel Oyarzabal, Nico Williams.

Head coach: Luis de la Fuente


Alphonse Areola, Brice Samba, Mike Maignan, Benjamin Pavard, Dayot Upamecano, Ferland Mendy, Ibrahima Konaté, Jonathan Clauss, Jules Koundé, Théo Hernández, William Saliba, Adrien Rabiot, Aurélien Tchouaméni, Eduardo Camavinga, N’Golo Kanté, Warren Zaïre-Emery, Youssouf Fofana, Antoine Griezmann, Bradley Barcola, Kingsley Coman, Kylian Mbappé, Marcus Thuram, Olivier Giroud, Ousmane Dembélé, Randal Kolo Muani.

Head coach: Didier Deschamps